Welcome

Commemorations of the Battle of the Bulge in Hardigny

Along the years, the event organized by the Ardennes Memories organization has become one of the major historical re-enactment of World War II in Europe. The growing commitment of hundreds of re-enactors and thousands of onlookers coming from all backgrounds is one of the best proof of its tangible success. The yearbook 2015 of the XXst century living history groups of the Militaria Magazine did not hesitate to note it as a « must see/participate » date in the calendar of major events.

At the end of the commemorations of the 70th anniversary of the Battle of the Bulge, Ardennes Memories had however decided to temporarily stop the event. The reason ? An organization that had become way too important to manage for the few volunteers who were the pillars of the show. Today, reinforced and strengthened, the team has decided to reorganize an event for the 75th anniversary of the Battle of the Bulge. With a new concept and a sharpened historical dimension, the Hardigny 44’ Project was born !

The villages of Hardigny and Neufmoulin were the theatre of terrible clashes between the units of the Task Force Booth (9th US Armored Division) and reconnaissance elements of the 2nd Panzer Division during the very first days of the German offensive. The sacrifice of the Task Force Booth – along with those of the 2 other Task Forces Rose and Harper -  was not vain since it allowed to gain precious time for the 101st Airborne Division to arrive in Bastogne and prepare for the shock to come. With the Hardigny 44’ event, the team of volunteers that we are and the City of Bastogne wish to remember those men who are too often forgotten to the profit of way more renowned units.

To do so, Ardennes Memories is back and ready to put every efforts in the organization of this 2019 edition. In a very authentic scenery where practically every barns and buildings are left untouched since 1944, we are expecting over 250 reenactors from internationally recognized reenactment groups – our reenactors are coming from Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Switzerland, USA,… - and on dozens of German and US vehicles. US M8’s, Halftracks, Stuart tank, Hellcat, 1 original Sturmgeschutz III, several originals and copies SDKFZ 251 halftracks and 1 copy of Panther tank are some of the many vehicles planned for our event. Many more vehicles will certainly join !
A pyrotechnical show will be organized on Sunday December 15th, 2019 at 10.30 AM. The pyrotechnical effects will be managed by a specialist coming from Poland. It is also worth noting that in the days prior to the event, 2 columns of vehicles (armored and wheeled) will be reenacting, in total immersion (open solely to serious reenactors) and on dozens of kilometers though the Ardennes, the journey of the 2nd Panzer Division and the Task Force Booth in December 1944.

To sum up, do not miss this formidable event who will take you back, during a weekend, in the terrible chaos of the last major German offensive of the Second Wold War.

For more information, do not hesitate to wander in the various pages of our website.

Bienvenue

Commémorations de la Bataille des Ardennes à Hardigny

Au fil des années, l’évènement organisé par Ardennes Memories est devenu une des reconstitutions historiques majeures de la Seconde Guerre mondiale en Europe. L’engouement croissant des centaines de figurants et des milliers de spectateurs venus de tous horizons, ainsi que les millions de vues de nos vidéos, sont des preuves tangibles de cette réussite. L’annuaire des groupes d’histoire vivante du XXe siècle de la revue Militaria Magazine n’a d’ailleurs pas hésité à la citer comme une date incontournable du calendrier des manifestations d’envergure.

 

Au crépuscule des commémorations du 70e anniversaire de la « Bataille des Ardennes », Ardennes Memories avait, pourtant, décidé de mettre un terme provisoire à l’évènement. La raison ? Une structure devenue bien trop lourde pour les quelques bénévoles piliers du spectacle. Aujourd’hui, renforcée et ragaillardie, l’équipe a décidé de remettre le couvert en vue du 75e anniversaire. Mais avec un nouveau concept et une trame historique affinée : le projet Hardigny 44’ venait de voir le jour !

 

Les villages d’Hardigny et de Neufmoulin ont été le théâtre des terribles affrontements entre les unités de la Task Force Booth (US 9th Armored Division) et les éléments de reconnaissance de la 2.Panzer Division dans les premiers jours de l’offensive. Le sacrifice de ladite Task Force  – ainsi que celui des deux autres Task Force Rose & Harper - ne fut pas vain vu qu’il permettra aux troupes aéroportées de la 101e de se préparer au choc qui allait suivre. Avec l’évènement Hardigny 44’, l’équipe des bénévoles - que nous sommes – et la Ville de Bastogne souhaitent se souvenir de ces hommes bien trop souvent oubliés au profit d’unités plus renommées.

 

Pour ce faire, Ardennes Memories souhaite mettre les petits plats dans les grands en cette édition 2019. Dans un décor authentique où pratiquement aucune grange ou habitation n’a pas bougé depuis 44’, nous avons misé sur près de 250 figurants à la qualité « reconstitutive » mondialement reconnue – nos figurants viennent d’Allemagne, de France, d’Italie, du Luxembourg, des Pays-Bas, de Pologne, de Suisse et des USA – et sur des dizaines de véhicules allemands et alliés dont plusieurs M8, Halftracks, Stuart et Hellcat. Et côté Allemand :  1 Sturmgeschutz III original, 2 SDKFZ 251 originaux, 2 SDKFZ 251 copies, 1 Panther copie… Et bien plus encore !
Un spectacle pyrotechnique de grande ampleur viendra ponctuer ce grand événement le dimanche 15 Décembre 2019 à 10h30. Les effets seront orchestrés par un pyrotechnicien spécialisé, maestro du genre en provenance de Pologne. A noter, les jours précédents l’événement, deux colonnes de véhicules (blindés et à roues) reconstitueront, en totale immersivité (ouvert aux seuls reconstituant) et sur plusieurs dizaines de kilomètres à travers les Ardennes, les parcours de la 2. Panzer Division et de la Task Force Booth en Décembre 44’.

 

En somme, ne ratez sans aucun prétexte cette immense pièce de théâtre qui vous plongera, le temps d’un week-end, dans le tourbillon du dernier va-tout allemand de la Seconde Guerre mondiale.